Sherrill’s Marble Hill Inn Wings Me Over

In my search for the holy grail of wings, I stumbled upon the Marble Hill Inn (ratings at bottom) in the little town of Sherrill, NY.  Located off the beaten path, Sherrill is about 30 minutes east of Syracuse in the hilly farm country outlying the city.

During my 1/2 an hour drive I checked out my new cd, the Velvet Touch of Los Straitjackets.  I highly recommend it.  I arrived at my destination.  Marble Hill Inn is hard to miss, first, because there’s nothing else around, and second, because there are two wrought-iron winged pigs perched on its roof.

I walked in and noticed about ten helmets lined in a row on a shelf.  Uh oh, I’m in a biker bar, I thought, then I noticed about 1/3 of the bar sporting snow suits.  F’ ME!  I’m in a SNOWMOBILER BAR.  No way was I getting out of this place without being seriously maimed.  Trying to be as inconspicuous as possible in my Dead Milkmen t-shirt, I found a corner spot at the bar away from the bibbed mofos.

They keep it simple at the Marble, choices are mild, med., hot, xtra hot, and bbq.  Went with the xtra hot, of course.  It’s always a crapshoot with wings a grade above hot.  Sometimes they aren’t hot at all, sometimes it’s like Sherman’s March to the Sea in your mouth.  They get it right at the Marble.

While I waited for my wings I took in the scene, watched a monster truck event on tv, and enjoyed the musical stylings of Grand Funk Railroad (Next time you hear “American Band”, pay special attention to the lyrics–there are some real gems in there) , Yes, CCR, and Thin Lizzy.   At last, my little pretties came out.  My god! They looked very very good.  They were medium-large in size and coated in a sauce thicker than normal standards.  I initially thought they weren’t hot enough, but about five wings in the heat kicked in.  Then, by around 12 I had a nice sweat going on the back of the neck–gave me the old irish tan, too.  This cumulative effect is known as “creeping heat”.  The sauce had bbq accents along with a heavy dose of cayenne.   Not sure what else was in there, but they are very good and the sauce is bold and tangy.  The wings were cooked to perfection with a decent crisp factor.  As traditional buffalo wings go, this sauce stands with some of the best I’ve had.  Definitely making the return trip.   If you find yourself  in farm country near Sherill/Oneida New York, I highly recommend stopping in for their Xtra Hot Wings.  And, if you’re the snowmobiling sort, this place is for you.

On a scale of 5 Wings (1 worst and 5 best):

Marble Hill Inn
4482 Marble Road
Oneida, NY 13421

Wing Night Wednesdays

Name: Extra Hot (Traditional)

Overall: 4 wings
Sauce: 4 wings
Heat Index: 4 wings
Size: 4 wings
Crispness: 3 wings
Tenderness: 4 wings

This entry was posted in Central New York, New York, Syracuse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sherrill’s Marble Hill Inn Wings Me Over

  1. that hint of barbeque ruins what used to be awesome…sure they are good, but you shoulda had them in the 90’s

Leave a Reply

